Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
Search result: alphabet - S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
S. M. Kirov Museum

S. M. KIROV MUSEUM (26-28 Kamennoostrovsky Avenue), memorial museum, a branch of the State Museum of St. Petersburg History. It was founded in 1938 by the resolution of the Leningrad City and Regional Party committee of the All-Union Communist Party

Sacred Music

SACRED MUSIC (church music) of the first half of the 18th century was developing in close connection with Moscow traditions. In 1703, the Sovereign Deacon Choir was moved from Moscow to St

Sadovaya Street

SADOVAYA STREET (from 1923 to 1944 - Third of July Street, the section from Italyanskaya Street up to Ekaterininsky Canal; from the 1730s to 1887, it was known as Bolshaya Sadovaya Street; the part from Moika River Embankment to Italyanskaya Street

Sadovaya Street, Malaya

SADOVAYA STREET, MALAYA, between Italyanskaya Street and Nevsky Prospect (the shortest street of St. Petersburg, its length is 179 metres). It was built in the second half of the 18th century

Sadovnikov P.S. (1796-1877), architect

SADOVNIKOV Peter Semenovich (1796-1877, St. Petersburg), architect, Member of the Petersburg Academy of Fine Arts (1849). Brother of V.S. Sadovnikov. Came from a family of serfs. Studied under the supervision of the architect A.N

Sadovnikov V.S., (1800-1879), Artist

SADOVNIKOV Vasily Semenovich (1800-1879, St. Petersburg) graphic artist, water colour painter. He was a brother of P. S. Sadovnikov. He came from a family of serfs. He painted documental and at the same time poetic views of St

Sadovy Bridges

SADOVY BRIDGES, two bridges spanning the Moika River by the Summer Garden and Mikhailovsky Garden (hence the name which mean garden in Russian); feature identical street lamps

Saigon Cafe

SAIGON. The restaurant Moscow, whose informal name was Saigon, existed in the 1960-80s (49 Nevsky Prospect; its second informal name was Moscow Region). Opened in 1964, the cafe soon became a meeting place for Leningrad youth subcultures

Saint Petersburg Literature and Arts Archives

SAINT PETERSBURG LITERATURE AND ARTS ARCHIVES, Central State (TsGALI SPb) (34 Shpalernaya Street), formed in 1969 on the base of the Central State Archives of the October Revolution of Leningrad

Saint Petersburg Society of Artists

SAINT PETERSBURG SOCIETY OF ARTISTS, renamed into Petrograd Society of Artists in 1914. Founded in 1890 by artists working in the academic style, with full members such as A. D. Kivshenko, I. E. Krachkovsky, K. Y. Kryzhitsky, L. F. Lagorio, A. I

Saint-Leon А. (1821-1870), ballet dancer, choreographer

SAINT-LEON Charles Victor Arthur Michel (1821-1870), French dancer, ballet master, teacher, composer. Educated by his father, a dancer and musician. From 1859 to 1869 he was ballet master of the court company in St. Petersburg

Saints of the St. Petersburg Eparchy (general article)

SAINTS OF THE ST. PETERSBURG EPARCHY, saints who lived on the territory of the Eparchy and were glorified by the Russian Orthodox Church. St. Prince Alexander Nevsky whose relics rest in Alexander Nevsky Lavra is a patron of the region and the city

Saitov V. I., (1849-1938),bibliographer, literature historian, author of the Peterburgsky Nekropol j

SAITOV Vladimir Ivanovich (1849, St. Petersburg -1938, Leningrad), historian of Russian literature, bibliographer, corresponding member of the Petersburg Academy of Sciences (1906)

Salnobuyansky Canal

SALNOBUYANSKY CANAL was dug between the Korabelnaya Embankment of the Bolshaya Neva River and the Pryazhka River in 1804. It separated Matisov Island from Kolomensky Island

Salon of Karamzina

SALON OF KARAMZINA, the salon of the widow of the historian N. M. Karamzin - Ekaterina Andreevna Karamzina (1780-1851) and of his daughter from the first marriage Sofia Nikolaevna Karamzina (1802-1856)

Salon of Sologub

SALON OF SOLOGUB, regular meetings (at-home) of St. Petersburg writers organized in 1904-16 (occurring usually on Sundays) at the flats of writer and poet F. Sologub, L. N. Andreev, A. A. Blok, Y. N. Verkhovsky, V. V. Gippius, M. V. Dobuzhinsky, B

Salons, Circles and Literary Gatherings (Entry)

SALONS, CIRCLES AND LITERARY GATHERINGS. During the 18th century regular gatherings of writers were uncommon, but those that there were portrayed different stylistic and philosophic positions

Saltykov V.F. Chief of police General in 1734-42

SALTYKOV Vasily Fedorovich (1675-1751), statesman, general en chef (1741), adjutant-general (1734). He served at Preobrazhensky Life Guards Regiment. In 1732-42 Petersburg Chief of Police General

Saltykov-Shchedrin M. E. (1826-1889), writer

SALTYKOV-SHCHEDRIN (real name Saltykov) Mikhail Yevgrafovich (1826-1889, St. Petersburg), writer. Graduated from the Alexander Lyceum (1844). Served at the Chancellory of the Military Ministry

Salute of 27 January 1944

SALUTE OF 27 JANUARY 1944, military ceremony in honour of the Lifting of the Siege; the only salute of the Great Patriotic War of 1941-45 outside Moscow. Fired at 20:00 from the embankment at the St

Salutes

SALUTES (from lat. salut – greeting), an old manner of greeting (flag salute, artillery salute etc.). Salutes were introduced in the early 18th century by Tsar Peter the Great as a ceremonial ritual at festivities (it was not uncommon that salutes

Samizdat (Underground Press) (Entry)

SAMIZDAT included literary and artistic, publicistic, philosophical, religious compositions etc. which could not be published in the official press for ideological reasons and were distributed without sanction or control from the state

Samokhvalov A.N., (1894-1971), artist

SAMOKHVALOV Alexander Nikolaevich (1894-1971, Leningrad), painter, graphic artist, theatre artist, sculptor. Studied at the Architecture Department of the Academy of Arts (1914-18) under V.A. Belyaev and G.R

Samoylov Memorial Museum Apartment

SAMOYLOV MEMORIAL MUSEUM APARTMENT (8 Stremyannaya Street) is a branch of the Museum of Theatre and Music Art. It was opened in 1994. The museum is dedicated to the history of the actor dynasty of the Samoylovs

Samoylov P.V., (1866-1931), actor

SAMOYLOV Pavel Vasilievich (1866, St. Petersburg - 1931, Leningrad), actor, Honoured Artist of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (1923). Son of V.V. Samoylov. Graduated from the Petersburg School of Commerce (1886)

Samoylov V.V., (1813-1887), actor

SAMOYLOV Vasily Vasilievich (1813, St. Petersburg - 1887, ibidem), actor. Brother of V.V. Samoylov, father of P.V. Samoylov. Graduated from the Mining Cadet Corps (1829) and the Institute of Forestry (1832)

Samoylova V.V. (1824-1880), actress

SAMOYLOVA Vera Vasilievna (1824 - 1880, St. Petersburg), actress. Sister of V.V. Samoylov, mother of V.A. Michurina-Samoylova. Studied acting technique under her sister L.V. Samoylova

Sampsonievsky Bolshoy Avenue

SAMPSONIEVSKY BOLSHOY AVENUE, named Samsonievskaya Street in 1739, then B. Samsonievsky Avenue in the early 19th century, receiving its present name in the late 19th century

Sampsonievsky Bridge

SAMPSONIEVSKY BRIDGE, (in 1918-1998 known as Svobody Bridge, Bridge of Freedom), over the Bolshaya Nevka, linking Kuybysheva Street and Finlandsky Avenue. The bridge was named after St. Sampson’s Cathedral

Samson, Meat-Processing Plant

SAMSON (13 Moskovskoe Highway), an open joint-stock company from 1992, a meat plant processing cattle and poultry and producing food, medicines, and industrial goods

1 2 3 4 5 6 7