Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
Entries / Young People's Theatre

Young People's Theatre

Categories / Art/Music, Theatre/Theaters, Concert Organizations

YOUNG PEOPLE'S THEATRE, Bryantsev Young People's Theatre, situated at 1 Pionerskaya Square. It was founded in 1921 and opened in 1922 in the hall of the former Tenishev's School at 33 Mokhovaya Street. Headed by A. A. Bryantsev, chief director in 1921-61 whose name was given to the theatre in 1980, the theatre developed a special system of expressive means adapted for children's perceptual psychology. The repertoire included fantasies, modern Soviet plays, and Russian and foreign classics. Among the best productions are Humpbacked Horse of 1922 based on P. P. Ershov's fairy-tale, Scapin's Schemings of 1924 based on J. B. Moliere's play, M. Cervantes' Don Quixote of 1926, E. L. Schwarz's Treasure of 1933 and Two Maples of 1954, Pushkin's Fairy Tales of 1962, V. G. Dolgy's After the Execution of 1967, F. Salten's Bambi of 1976, R. Kipling's The Cat That Walked by Himself of 1977, W. Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors of 1978, P. Sheffer's Ekvus and Notes of Poprishchin of 1989, the latter based on N. V. Gogol's play, Crime and Punishment of 1994 based on F. M. Dostoevsky's novel, Gogol's Old World Landowners of 1996, Late Demon of 1997 based on A. S. Pushkin's play, A. P. Chekhov's Wood Spirit of 2000, and Diary of a Provincial in St. Petersburg of 2002 based on Saltykov-Shchedrin's play. The theatre had a studio attached to it from 1922 that later became a branch of the children's theatre of the Leningrad Institute of Theatre, Music, and Cinema (see Academy of Theatre Art). The Delegate Assembly of Leningrad Schoolchildren was attached to the Young People's Theatre from 1924. The New Young People's Theatre separated from the Young People's Theatre in 1935, which was headed by B. V. Zon and existed until 1945. Evacuated to the town of Berezniki in 1942, the Young People's Theatre resumed its activities in Leningrad in 1944. Among directors who worked and are working at the Young People's Theatre are Zon, E. G. Gakkel, L. F. Makariev, P. K. Weisbrem, S. E. Dimant, Z. Y. Korogodsky, the chief director in 1961-86, V. M. Filshtinsky, L. A. Dodin, A. D. Andreev, the chief director in 1986-96, G. L. Vasilyev, A. A. Praudin, the chief director in 1996-98, S. K. Kargin, the chief director in 1999-2002, I. V. Latyshev, and V. A. Tumanov. Among actors: Makariev, Е. А. Uvarova, A. A. Okhitina, V. P. Politseymako, B. P. Chirkov, N. K. Cherkasov, N. N. Kazarinova, N. V. Mamaeva, V. B. Soshalsky, Y. Y. Kamorny, T. B. Shestakova, O. V. Volkova, N. N. Ivanov, I. L. Sokolova, A. N. Shuranova, G. G. Taratorkin, A. Y. Khochinsky, N. G. Lavrov, I. G. Shibanov, L. D. Zhvania, N. I. Drobysheva, V. A. Dyachenko, Latyshev, A. V. Devotchenko, and D. V. Bulba. Among artists: V. I. Beyer, M. Z. Levin, M. A. Grigoryev, N. N. Ivanova, Z. P. Arshakuni, M. T. Azizian, V. I. Dorrer, E. S. Kochergin, M. F. Kitaev, and E. B. Kapelyush. G. M. Kozlov has been the chief director of the Young People's Theatre since 2002. The theatre is situated in a building specially built by architect A. V. Zhuk in 1962.

References: Ленинградский театр юных зрителей: [Альбом]. Л., 1972; Дмитриевский В. Н. Театр юных поколений: Творч. путь Ленингр. гос. театра юных зрителей. Л., 1975.

A. A. Kirillov.

Andreev Andrey D.
Arshakuni Zaven Petrosovich
Azizian Marina (Lyudmila) Tsolakovna
Beyer Vladimir Ivanovich
Bryantsev Alexander Alexandrovich
Bulba D.B.
Cervantes Miguel de
Chekhov Anton Pavlovich
Cherkasov Nikolay Konstantinovich
Chirkov Boris Petrovich
Devotchenko Alexey Valerievich
Dimant Semen I.
Dodin Lev Abramovich
Dolgy Vasily G.
Dorrer Valery Ivanovich
Dostoevsky Fedor Mikhailovich
Drobysheva Nina Ivanovna
Dyachenko V.A.
Ershov Peter Petrovich
Filshtinsky Veniamin Mikhailovich
Gakkel Evgeny Gustavovich
Gogol Nikolay Vasilievich
Grigoryev Mikhail Alexandrovich
Ivanov Nikolay Nikolaevich
Ivanova N.N.
Kamorny Yury Yurievich
Kapelyush Emil Borisovich
Kargin Sergey Konstantinovich
Kazarinova Nina Nikolaevna
Khochinsky Alexander Yurievich
Kipling Joseph Rudyard
Kitaev Mart Frolovich
Kochergin Eduard Stepanovich
Korogodsky Zinovy Yakovlevich
Kozlov Ivan Ivanovich
Latyshev Ivan V.
Lavrov N.G.
Levin Moisey Zeligovich
Makariev Leonid Fedorovich
Mamaeva Nina Vasilievna
Moliere Jean-Baptiste
Okhitina Alexandra Alexeevna
Politseymako Vitaly Pavlovich
Praudin Anatoly Arkadievich
Pushkin Alexander Sergeevich
Salten F.
Saltykov-Shchedrin (real name Saltykov) Mikhail Evgrafovich
Schwarz Evgeny Lvovich
Shakespeare William
Sheffer P.
Shestakova Tatyana Borisovna
Shibanov Igor Georgievich
Shuranova Antonina Nikolaevna
Sokolova Irina Leonidovna
Soshalsky Vladimir Borisovich
Taratorkin Georgy Georgievich
Tumanov Vladimir Anatolievich
Uvarova Elizaveta Alexandrovna
Vasilyev G.L.
Volkova Olga Vladimirovna
Weisbrem Pavel Karlovich
Zhuk Alexander Vladimirovich
Zhvania Liana Dmitrievna
Zon Boris Wulfovich

Mokhovaya St./Saint Petersburg, city, house 33
Pionerskaya Square/Saint Petersburg, city, house 1

Ленинградский театр юных зрителей: [Альбом]. Л., 1972
Дмитриевский В. Н. Театр юных поколений: Творч. путь Ленингр. гос. театра юных зрителей. Л., 1975

The subject Index
Tenishev's School
Theatre Art Academy


Admiralteisky District

ADMIRALTEISKY DISTRICT, (Admiralty) an administrative territorial unit of St. Petersburg (Its territory administration is located at 10 Izmailovsky Avenue), is one of the central districts of the city

Anniversaries of Petersburg (centenary, bicentenary, two hundred fiftieth anniversary, tercentenary)

ANNIVERSARIES OF ST. PETERSBURG. St. Petersburg's first anniversary celebration (the city's centenary) took place in 1803. Celebrations started on the morning of 16 May 1803

Bryantsev A.A., (1883-1961), director

BRYANTSEV Alexander Alexandrovich (1883, St. Petersburg - 1961, Leningrad), director, theatre worker, People's Artist of the USSR (1956). Graduated from the Historical Philological Faculty of Petersburg University (1908)

Bryullov B.P. (1882-1939?), Regional Ethnographer

BRYULLOV Boris Pavlovich (1882, Pavlovsk - 1939), art historian, regional ethnographer, organizer of excursions around Leningrad. Grandson of A. P. Bryullov. Graduated from the Faculty of History and Philology of the St

Cherkasov N.K., (1903-1966), actor

CHERKASOV Nikolay Konstantinovich (1903, St. Petersburg - 1966, Leningrad), actor, People's Artist of the USSR (1947). Graduated from the Leningrad Dramatics School in 1926

Chirkov B.P. (1901-1982), film actor

CHIRKOV Boris Petrovich (1901-1982), film and theatre actor, author of books and articles, People’s Artist of the USSR (1950) and Hero of Socialist Labour (1975)

Freindlikh B.A., (1909-2002), actor

FREINDLIKH Bruno Arturovich (1909 - 2002, St. Petersburg), actor, People's Artist of the USSR (1974). In 1931-34, studied at the Dramatics School (today Academy of Dramatic Arts)

Kadochnikov P.P. (1915-1988) film actor

KADOCHNIKOV Pavel Petrovich (1915, Petrograd - 1988, Leningrad), actor, film director, People’s Artist of the USSR (1979), Hero of Socialist Labour (1985). After graduating from the Leningrad Theatre Institute he worked as an actor at Leningrad’s

Pionerskaya Square

PIONERSKAYA SQUARE between Zagorodny Avenue and the Young People's Theatre. It partly occupies the former vast ground of Semenovsky Lifeguard Regiment. Members of Petrashevsky's Circle were subjected to a mock execution in the ground in 1849 and

Theatre Art Academy

THEATRE ART ACADEMY, St. Petersburg State Academy of Theatre Art situated at 34 and 35 Mokhovaya Street, a higher art education institution established after numerous changes in its form and name