Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
Entries / Winter Canal

Winter Canal

Categories / City Topography/Waterways and Currents/Canals
Categories / City Topography/Urban Network/Embankments

WINTER CANAL was dug from the Palace Embankment to the Moika river embankment by the contractor V. Ozerov (228 meters long, about 20 meters wide, average waterflow of 2m3/s) in 1718-19. In 1738, it was named the Old Palace Canal (the passage along the Canal was named Old Palace street after the Old Winter Palace); in the 1780s the name was changed to the Zimnedomsky (Winter House) or the Winter Canal (after the neighbouring Winter Palace). In 1763, its right bank was named Pochtovaya (Post) Street (after the Post Yard located at the corner of Millionnaya Street); from 1828 it bears its present-day name. In 1782-84, it was covered with granite embankments (railings by sculptor Johann Dunker). The Winter Canal is spanned with the following bridges Hermitage Bridge (on the Palace Embankment), the First Winter Bridge (on Milionnaya Street) and the Second Winter Bridge on the Moika River Embankment (see Winter Bridges). The arch connecting the buildings of the Old Hermitage and the Hermitage Theatre (1780s, architect Yury Felten) makes the Winter Canal particularly picturesque. The former barracks of the 1st Preobrazhensky Life Guards Regiment (33 Millionnaya Street, 1853-57, architect Vladislav Lvov) and the former house of Alexey Arakcheev (No 5, 1797-99) overlook the Winter Canal.

G. Y. Nikitenko

Arakcheev Alexey Andreevich
Dunker Johann Franz
Felten Yury (Georg Friedrich) Matveevich
Lvov Vladislav Pavlovich
Ozerov V.

Zimnaya Kanavka/Saint Petersburg, city

The subject Index
Ermitazhny (Hermitage) Bridge
Zimny Bridges
Hermitage Theatre